Ads in Apps

Now that I am playing a game online (Crosswords) I see In-App advertising more than I wish. There are times I endure the 30 seconds of “commercials” to be rewarded with some extra points. There is one that pops up frequently and has gotten my attention; it’s called “Royal Match” where King Robert needs and cries out for help to save his life and restore the Royal Castle’s former glory. Some young people (day-players) announcing the game say the benefits of playing this game: Once downloaded NO WiFi needed! (fine), NO ADS! (great), IT’S FREE! (wonderful), “Do yourself a favor” for it is “satisfying and relaxing”.

I understand the gratifying feeling of helping someone in need and even saving a life from danger and death, but the challenge is not always achieved and there is the possibility of failure. I have not played it, but I don’t see any attraction, relaxation and calmness in a game where the character is in an ordeal with a face of despair and anguish.

“God save the King” not me; I pass, thank you.

Leave a comment