Efren Duran

Efren Duran was 59 years old when he unexpectedly passed away last week. I had known him for almost 40 years. He was a man with a quiet and gentle spirit. He had a real shepherd’s heart. I don’t remember exactly when, but every year during my  visit to Mexico, he invited me to go out for a cup of coffee. It was more than just a cup of coffee, it was a complete Mexican style breakfast in a long-established restaurant in Veracruz. It was a great time of fellowship. He then also incorporated to this tradition two other friends also working as missionaries. The conversation was always about me…about us, about our lives, work, dilemmas, needs, future plans and desires. He had an extraordinary listening ear for his sheep.

The last words he casually said to me were “give me a call if you have time for another cup of coffee before your trip back to Bolivia; there is this place I would like to take you with a beautiful view to the ocean”.

I accept God’s perfect will and timing for his departure. Our cup of coffee will have to wait just a little longer. I will miss my brother and friend till we meet again in that place promised by our Lord and Savior of our souls with a more beautiful view.

DSC_0217

January 2016 in LA PARROQUIA famous coffeehouse in Veracruz

Published in: on March 3, 2016 at 4:09 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2016/03/03/efren-duran/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

