Hobo Dinner and Smores

Back in 1990, on my way to my first summer camp experience at Deerfoot Lodge, a college friend and I spent one night in the camp Directors’ home, Charles and Sally Jo Gieser. I don’t remember how and why, but I found myself taking a walk with Chuck (and dog) in what I suppose it is Highland road in the town of Greenville, NY. He had interviewed me months earlier, but during this walk, I was having my first real conversation with him.  We must have talked about different things, mostly camp subjects, I guess. But, what is it that I remember the most and vividly? His explanation of what it is a Hobo dinner and the procedure of making smores.

campfire-meals

smores

Those one-on-one conversations and walks are a long-established DL tradition. Over the years I had my customary walk with him at the end of the summer and some others as opportunities came.  Chief Chuck, as everybody calls him at camp, is an excellent storyteller, but above all, he is a man of God with so much to teach, share, give and inspire. I never had too much of those one-on-ones.

Today, those conversations have taken another form: “email-to-email” communication, chat, discussions, etc. But I continue to benefit from his knowledge, advice, rebuke, insight, experience, and constant words of encouragement.

In talking about hobo dinner and smores, Chuck Gieser taught me one of the most valuable lessons in my life; that apparently meaningless subjects of conversation build bridges and can lead to significant, enduring and rewarding relationships. When you give time to somebody, it is never a waste of time.

Chief Chuck and I back in 1992

Chief Chuck and I back in 1992

Published in: on November 13, 2014 at 10:04 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2014/11/13/chiefchuck1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

