Just a Worm

bird worm 1“Do not fear, you worm Jacob, you men of Israel; I will help you,” declares the LORD, “and your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel.” Isaiah 41:14

God saw Jacob and the Jews in Babylon as worms. I would not doubt He sees me in the same way and condition. A worm is generated in putrid substances. Being like a worm, which has no arms, legs, eyes, back bone  or teeth in their mouth, means it could easily be exposed to danger, to be trampled or crushed. It is an object of insignificance. An ugly little animal, weak, despicable and of little esteem.

Some Jewish commentators have this observation: “The strength of a worm lies in its mouth, which, though tender, can strike the strongest cedar and penetrate into it. The strength of Israel lies in their prayers.”

worm_600_01-24-13

Today, I recognize that I am a worm in a state of helplessness and unable to defend myself. I pray to God who offers me his aid, assures me I have nothing to fear and, in wonders of wonders, carries me in his hands!

“Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” Is.46:4

Published in: on February 13, 2014 at 5:00 am  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/worm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Andres,

    Then a worm I shall be, and joyful to be so.

    How is the registration of new students for this school year coming along ? Also, Is there still a strike from protesters going on throughout Bolivia?
    Your in my thoughts and prayers.

    Steve Barclay

  2. Hi Andres, praying for you today.

  3. Mi querido Andrés, este texto es una gran promesa. Me maravilla que a pesar de ser como somos, nuestro Señor aún nos ame tanto. Oraré por ti, mi querido hermanito. He vivido lo que es permanecer lejos de casa y de la familia y también sé lo que se siente y todo lo que acarrea todo esto.Un gran abrazo de mi parte..


Leave a Reply

