Living Sacrifice

ot_abraham-isaacThe test of Abraham’s faith that led him to obey God to give his son whom he love in sacrifice, it usually is an upsetting thought. How could a loving God ask such thing? Will God ALWAYS have a ram caught by its horns nearby? (Gen.22) Well, for the ultimate and most important sacrifice, YES, He himself has provided a lamb! The Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world; His beloved Son, Jesus. (Jn-1:29) On the other hand, He might be asking me the offering, for real.  If God was serious and determined about the sacrifice He and His Son had to make for me; then I am not to take with triviality or negligence his request to present my body as living sacrifice (Rom.12:1). The good part of this request is that I don’t have to offer it to gain God’s favor. God’s wrath has been appeased by the sacrifice of his Son.(Rom.5:1).

So today, like every day, but especially today for me; I offer up my pain to Him. He is worthy of it and the only one who can make sense out of giving up what it is dear and close to my heart. After all, it doesn’t compare to what He had to give up for me!

What is it that you have to lay on the altar today?

Published in: on January 30, 2014 at 10:28 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/living-sacrifice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “If God was serious and determined about the sacrifice He and His Son had to make for me; then I am not to take with triviality or negligence his request to present my body as living sacrifice.”

    Powerful words. Thank you, Andres!

  2. Siempre que pienso en esto, me digo: ¿cuánto he tenido que dejar para el Señor? y me pongo triste, porque en realidad es muy, pero muy poco. No de en balde a Abraham, Dios le llama “Amigo”. Qué preciosa palabra y más viniendo del Altísimo. Bueno, leemos que el Señor Jesús dice: “Vosotros sois mis amigos si hacéis lo que yo os mando”, ¡Seamos amigos de Jesús”. ¡Lindo post, Andrés!


Leave a Reply

