Ponder the path of your feet (part II)

There is no way to avoid the obvious; when walking with crutches, one becomes dependent on others. Crutches are a mobility aid which I have used since my right ankle was injured. Asking for help is healthy, but somehow it has made me uncomfortable to depend on people for big and small tasks I used to do for myself.  Vulnerable, unsustaining, relying on, inferior, poor, lesser are words listed as synonyms for “dependency”. Then I came to realize that these words hurt my ego. Antonyms for dependency give a more favorable connotation: strong, superior, important, mature, free!!

There is no way to avoid my obvious spiritual need from God; He is the only self-sufficient being. He is the fountain of life and sustains all things by the power of his word. The Lord Jesus plainly stated this fact: “For apart from me you can do nothing”.

And finally there is also the horizontal interdependence from each other that sometimes it is not so obvious, or I prefer to ignore and make it look not so noticeable. As I ponder the path of my feet, this the Lord requires of me, a simple mortal, TO WALK HUMBLY. It is sinful to think of myself as self-sufficient; I humbly need to admit my great need of God and others.

 

Published in: on October 3, 2013 at 6:31 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/prov264-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. So true! An incredible challenge to recognize my own total-dependence on God even for “routine” acts such as breathing, heart-beat, etc.
    Hope you get well soon – to heal physically, yet retain the great lesson far beyond it.


Leave a Reply

