Psalm 34:8

pulpo a la veracruzana2My mother tells me how years ago she refused to try food that it seemed like rats’ tails, a popular seafood from our hometown Veracruz (Mexico), octopus in its ink. After too much insistence, she closed her eyes, opened her mouth and experienced an extraordinary delicacy very much liked to her since then; I am still to say the same. My family keeps telling me that I cannot say “I don’t like it” until I’ve tried it; I decline their offer every time. They do look like rats’ tails, don’t care how delicious they might be! I know, I am judging by looks and coming to a wrong conclusion and ultimately, missing something good!

The invitation from the psalmist “O taste and see that the LORD is good” has the idea of a personal, inward, experimental trial. An individual perception and experience of the goodness of God. In one sense, God is not what others say about him; but what He says He is and one finds to be true.

When Nathanael asked if any good thing could come out of Nazareth; Philip simply answered him “come and see”

God is inviting us to taste Him, to flavor his goodness and everyone who does, is not disappointed. It is simple, appetite grows with eating.

Published in: on May 2, 2013 at 6:31 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/psalm-348/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. ¡Hermoso, Andrés! Paso de rapidín, después de estar mucho tiempo sin lap. Saludos affectuosos.


Leave a Reply

