The Cost of following

ManiñosIn Luke 14:25-27 The Lord Jesus is not asking me to hate my family, but to love Him more than I love them. It is one of the cost of following Him. It could be easy, to some degree, to give up bad things, but it is very painful to give up things that are not bad in themselves.  Family is a wonderful gift from Him to us, but if it creates a wall between me and the call God has on my life, then I cannot be his disciple. I am not the only one who has decided to “hate” family; my family has also given me up; they accept and encourage my service to him far away from them. I feel their love and support. We offer our heartache, our pain of separation as a living sacrifice to the one whose sacrifice brought salvation to our souls; He is worthy. We don’t get to see each other very often and this makes us long for heaven, our real home. Oh what a day it will be when we’ll say good-bye to all good-byes!

Published in: on February 7, 2013 at 7:24 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/cost/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Este post se podría llamar: “Ayer y hoy”. Es increíble cuánto han crecido tus sobrinos, pero tú…¡sigues igualito! ¡qué bárbaro! ¡Pásate la receta! ¡Wow! Y bueno, algún día todos tendremos que decir “Adiós” y como diría Spurgeon: “Nos vemos en el cielo”.
    Un fuerte abrazo.

  2. Amén!!!! Tqm tío !!!


Leave a Reply

