A walk with my dog

One morning while taking my dog for a daily walk, I saw another dog approaching and knowing that my dog is not a fighter and wouldn’t retaliate in case of an aggression; I picked up a little rock to throw, just to scare him away. I didn’t throw the rock. This dog, unaware of my intentions, didn’t have to bark, defend himself or show me his long sharp fangs; he only was with his owner that just happen to emerge at the right time.

I have kept this little rock with me, it reminds me that probably on many and different occasions, without knowing it, I’ve been protected by my heavenly Father. When Satan sees me, he also has to see my owner and master, who’s always there at the right time. I can confidently say: “Oh Lord, you have been our refuge throughout all generations.” Psalm 90:1

Things that once were alarms cannot now disturb my rest: closed in everlasting arms, pillowed on the loving breast!  Oh to lie forever here, doubt and care and self resign, while He whispers in my ear-I AM HIS AND HE IS MINE.”     WR

Published in: on September 6, 2012 at 6:13 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/dog-walk/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This story happened many years ago. The dog in the picture (below) is Aldo and he is a fighter.

  2. Pensé, cuando leía lo de la piedra que habías tomado en tu mano, que nosotros como hijos de Dios ¡tenemos una roca! ¡Mejor fundamento no podemos tener!
    Saludos, Andrés.

  3. Nice post which this dog, unaware of my intentions, didn’t have to bark, defend himself or show me his long sharp fangs; he only was with his owner that just happen to emerge at the right time. It have kept this little rock with me, it reminds me that probably on many and different occasions, without knowing it, I’ve been protected. Thanks a lot for posting this article.


Leave a Reply

