VIVA MEXICO, the shout (el grito)

In the early hours of September 16, 1810, a catholic priest, Don Miguel Hidalgo, accompanied by other conspirators,  rang the bell of his little church calling everyone to fight for freedom from three centuries of Spanish rule.

Currently, the celebration starts late at night of the 15th with a gathering in the central plaza where the president, after a speech,  rings the original bell for everyone to hear the 200-year-old sound of liberty. The ceremony reaches the high point when he proudly shouts a triple “VIVA MEXICO!”

I am an expatriate with a missionary duty in a school setting therefore I am, to some extent,  in obligation to civic education. I participate and in some cases, also prepare many festivities and ceremonies for national, state and local holidays. I have to confess that after singing for 15 years  Bolivia’s National Anthem every Monday; I know the words of it (at leat two stanzas of the four) very well. I hesitate to recite the words of Mexico’s National Anthem. 

I think dual patriotism is possible. I feel at home in two countries. I love their people, food, landscape, culture, music, etc. I don’t think one is better than the other. Today it’s just Mexico’s turn;  it’s the time to say “VIVA MEXICO!”

I like to see a man proud of the place in which he lives.  I like to see a man live so that his place will be proud of him.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Published in: on September 15, 2011 at 7:03 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2011/09/15/el-grito/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Andres,

    As a person who lives on the very immediate border of Mexico ( San Diego, California) I have very close associations with Mexico, it’s rich history, it’s people, and culture. I will echo your sentiments, Viva Mexico, and because of my connection to you, and Escuela Christiana Camirina, I also say Viva Bolivia.

    You may be interested to know I am the advocate for 2 local school organizations, Urban Youth Collaborative & Reality Changers, which hold campus bible studies. and assist students with college applications, grants, etc. Both are almost totally comprised of hispanic
    students. Very rewarding to see how much they impact and change the lives of so many students.

    On a personal; note, I would like to thank you for your recent blog about my baseball/softball career – Playing For Christ. It really moved me, as well as many friends I shared it with.

    This Sunday, I will be delivering a message about “Ordinary People” to a 100% Arabic congregation. I am very enthused about this opportunity God has presented to me, and look forward to glorifying him thru my message.

    Stay well my friend.
    In Christ,,
    Steve Barclay


Leave a Reply

