Vitiacua

Josue & Mimi

One of the privileges that I have as a teacher is to spend time with my students as their guest with their families at their homes. Nohemi, affectionately called Mimi, former 4th grade student in 2005 and Josue, my superstar Pajarito, former 4th grade student in 2007 invited me to spend the first weekend of our two-week winter break in their ranch, a place named  Vitiacua in the Chuquisaca Department (State). As in most rural areas of Bolivia,Vitiacua seems a far away land although it is only 69 km (approx. 43 miles) from Camiri, but the dirt road, the lack of electricity, tap water, shower, toilet and other commodities and components of urban areas make you feel as if it is another world.

Every time I step out of my comfort zone I realize that the most important ingredient in making it through is the people around me. I actually have the greatest time and fun; the place becomes irrelevant. I get to learn so much from my students about different things, aspects of life and above all about hospitality.  In the end, the memories, “the dearest of our eternal possessions”, will be kept in our hearts as a friendship token.

You can see more pictures in my facebook album

Published in: on July 14, 2011 at 6:18 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/vitiacua/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. ¡que lindo lugar Andrés! y hermoso el pensamiento: las relaciones con las personas son mas importantes que el lugar, me hace recordar la actitud del Señor Jesús con la Samaritana. Te quiero mucho. Tutis


Leave a Reply

