To Boyuibe

Boyuibe is a small and not-too-far town 35 miles south of Camiri. It only takes 45 minutes to one hour to get there by car. Last Saturday we made it there in 9 hours in our human-powered transportation, the bicycle.

We were seven in the group and I was the oldest; I had not ridden a bicycle in 14 years and I have to confess that I was scared about the idea that I first declined and refused to participate; but then I remembered challenging times and events of the past in my life and how in spite of my fears and physical weakness I had managed to achieve them. I am not getting younger, so if I didn’t do it now, less likely later; so I accepted to go!

Riding a bike is a great way to exercise; leg-muscles, heart, blood vessels and lungs all get workout. It is also lots of fun; spending time with friends and enjoying the environment around you. The Lord gave us a nice hot day with a bright blue sky, white cumulus clouds and totally green vegetation. There is something about the contrast and combination of these summer colors from midday to sunset and a clear night thanks to the moonlight which made the road visible.

One recurrent thought that came to my mind as I rode up and down the hills and slopes to Boyuibe is that the Bible often says that Jesus traveled and went “up to Jerusalem”, Galilee, Bethsaida, Capernaum, Emmaus, etc. He did use boats sometimes and a donkey at least once, but I assumed that most of his traveling was done on foot. It must have included hot and rainy days, cold nights, thirsty tongue, hungry stomach, tired legs, sore feet, sleepy eyes, burnt and dry skin and a sweaty body! These things often take out of me the desire and energy to be a servant and to think of others first. He always used these times to ministry to his disciples and all who followed him. I wonder if my Lord of the universe ever wished for a horse or if in those uncomfortable conditions he quietly thought of the Garden of Eden. Maybe in one of his walks, in his omniscience, he saw my friends and me riding to Boyuibe and prepared every tree under we enjoyed shade. 

I don’t regret having gone; it seemed simple and yet it was difficult and gave me new appreciation and perspective of life. One thing I vividly recall was when I first had a glimpse of the lights of Boyuibe; I knew the journey had come to an end and so, in a lower degree, I already know what I will feel when I cross the final line and get to heaven.

Published in: on January 20, 2011 at 11:28 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/boyuibe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great thoughts; great insight!!! Thanks! May God continue to bless you richly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. ¡Qué bien, Andrés! Es lindo lo que nos platicas y lástima que dejamos de hacer esas cosas que son tan lindas como andar en bicicleta. De hecho, es un excelente ejercicio.
    Que el Señor te continúe bendiciendo.

  3. No había pensado en como el Señor llegaba a un lugar a otro, me refiero a que si decía “bote” está bien, si decía “pollino” también, pero de ahí, pensaba, “caminando” pero no reparaba en las condiciones clímaticas y sensaciones de piel que es verdad, pues aquí lo sentimos como ahora que llueve e iré caminando por los hijos a la escuela pero el ¿Qué necesidad tenía de hacerlo? Ninguna, solo pensaba en nosotros. ¡Gracias Señor por amarnos tanto!
    TKM tu siempre hermana,

  4. […] as a fundraiser activity to help various needs of the church. This time 8 of us went to Boyuibe, a nearby village with an estimated population of 3,075 people and located in the very dry land […]


Leave a Reply

