Little Drop

If there has been a kid from school who has ever been the closest to me; that one has to be “Gotita”. His name is Carlos Andres Rios. His last name means “Rivers” and he was so tiny that his older brother’s classmates started calling him “little drop” (Gotita).

His father died when he was a toddler and hardly has a memory of him in his mind. Gotita was born with an indent in his chest (Pectus excavatum) but he is not worry about it; on the contrary, he is relaxed and comfortable taking his shirt off to go swimming. For years he was like a son to me; I was like a father to him.

As things in life happen that are never planned in your mind, but after all, they are part of normal life; about two years ago he met a girl from another church and has become his special friend. While I had to almost beg him to come more regularly to church meetings; he has been very active in that church’s youth group. I have also worked in camps with his girlfriend and I can say she is a good Christian that loves and serves the Lord.

The other day I got a call from Gotita inviting me to be present in his baptism. He gave his testimony in front of the crowd and the pastor also testified of Gotita’s interest for the things of the Lord.

As I stood there, remembering how much I had poured into his life, but had nothing to do with his decision to obey the Lord; I recalled the Apostle Paul’s words in I Corinthians 3: 6 “I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.” He is not in “my local church” as I had wished, but I am very happy he is in fellowship and content to have done my part in his life.

QUOTE:

“Children are the living messages 

we send to a time we will not see.” Neil Postman

Published in: on August 12, 2010 at 6:32 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2010/08/12/gotita/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Andres,
    What a good testimony of your faithfulness….
    Sometimes our plans aren’t HIS plans…but seems like Gotita is doing well and for that you can just Praise the Lord!
    Trust you are well…………Love, the Possings

  2. Es cierto, que uno quisiera verles crecer en el lugar en donde iniciaron, pero, qué se puede hacer. Lo importante es que sigan al Señor. ¡Bien por ti!
    “Yo sembré, Apolos regó, pero el crecimiento lo dio el Señor…” ¿Te acuerdas de este canto?
    Un saludo afectuoso.


Leave a Reply

