Gala 44

Mexican and Chinese food, fluffy Strawberry cake, fireworks, Christmas lights and friends around were the elements that made my birthday # 44 special. I thank the Lord for these years of life, his gift of eternal life, his many undeserved blessings, people and work.

44 and I am shamefaced far from maturity. I still have much to learn and apply what I have already learned. As I stand at the threshold of another year, I enter with HOPE that I will experience a journey of unexplored and untrodden fields of significant chances, unlimited possibilities, exceedingly great opportunities and new doors will open. I enter with TRUST in the one who has given me in his written Word an encouraging contingency plan with the promise that He will ultimately transform me into his image when the race is over.

It has been a good year…have been good 44 years, but they are now in the past; achievements and failures, joys and disappointments; I offer every one of them to You, Lord of All. In Your name I forget the past to press on to what lies ahead for me and I will only remember it to say “thank you”.

Published in: on December 24, 2009 at 12:05 am  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2009/12/24/gala-44/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like what I read and he who writes the words… There’s a song that I’m particularly fond of and it says something like “to go back to where I was would just be wrong, I’m pressing on, pressing on…” May you have a wonderful rest of the year… Big hug from Mexico Uncle Andy!

  2. QUE BENDICIÓN DE TENERTE POR HERMANO! 44 AÑOS DE TENERTE CONMIGO, MI ALMA ES BENDECIDA CON TU AMISTAD.
    QUE LINDO QUE LA PASASTE SUPER!RODEADO DE AMIGOS Y HERMANOS QUE TE QUIEREN. TE QUIERO MUCHO TAMBIEN.

  3. Andrew,
    I would have loved to be there to celebrate your birthday! It looks like great fun! Here are some some great verses that I think apply, and you made reference to them:

    Philippians 3:13-14 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

    2 Corinthians 4:16-18 So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. 17 For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, 18 as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

    You have been a great encouragement in my life, keep pressing on Andres! God bless you and a Merry Christmas!

  4. ¡FELIZ CUMPLEAÑOS,ANDRÉS! No lo puedo creer, parece que fue ayer que eras un adolescente, en fin. Gracias a Dios el concederme la oportunidad de conocerte y tenerte entre mis amigos.
    Un abrazo afectuoso en tu cumpleaños.

  5. Ja,ja,ja,ja, ¡Andrés! te felicité en el FB porque pensé que no había entrado en el blog, pero ya ves, que no soy para nada buena en ésto, y “feisbukeando” ¡soy peor!, ja,ja,ja,ja.
    La verdad es que te ves mucho más joven que los años que dices tener. Acá entre amigos, pásame la fórmula, je,je. ¡No hay que ser…!
    Saludos.


Leave a Reply

