About giving a cup of water

Water_TapThe water that comes out of the faucet in Bolivia is supposed to be suitable for drinking, but some days in the past it came so murky that gave me the impression I was getting chocolate milk from the tap. During my first years I used to boil it in my biggest pot, but still possible contaminants might had remained. Now I buy 5.5 gallon water bottles (20 l). When I get the visit of my students on a hot day, they can drink water like thirsty camels and all my “reservoir”  can be gone in a few minutes! Right there I started thinking in what the Lord said in Matthew 10:42. I had always understood that phrase (cup of cold water) as the least you can offer from the store of what one has; the simplest act of kindness, but is it? When I think of the location where Israel is and its chronic water problems, both natural and man-made: drought, population growth, etc. I wonder how easy was and is to share it?h2o To be honest, I prefer to give of what I have in abundance, to spare or left over. There are many ways to figuratively and properly apply these words, but I have had the opportunity to experience, probably as in several parts of the world, the giving of a cup of cold water in a literal sense. It’s not always easy. Sometimes it is a small sacrifice. It has a cost. It requires some effort. This brings to mind Amy Carmichael’s words: YOU CAN GIVE WITHOUT LOVING, BUT YOU CANNOT LOVE WITHOUT GIVING. Let us love. Let us give. Water is life and we all have some to give and share with those who are thirsty.

Published in: on October 1, 2009 at 6:17 am  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/water/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You make a valid point about water being difficult to get in Israel. I can’t say for sure, but it seems like you are right, it was hard to get.
    When Christ explained what it took to be a disciples to the group of untrained fishermen that he called “disciples”, he had tremendous expectations. To be his disciple one had to give up everything, and especially the things that cost most–friends, family, money, etc. all to follow Christ. We are called to the same.
    Amy Carmichael’s quote is very, very good. Actually I just heard it for the first time a couple weeks ago, but it rings very true: You cannot love without giving.

  2. Wow}! Loved the phrase: You cannot love without giving. Thanks.

  3. Dar y dar con amor, se torna difícil cuando eres herido por el amigo, el esposo, el hermano improdunte.
    Pero proverbios 25:21 y 22 nos aconseja dar aún al que me aborrece “si el que te aborrece tuviere sed, dale de beber agua”… quizá para mí dar el agua no es tan difícil como dar una respuesta amable y cariñosa a alguien cuando merece una mueca ó me es mas dificil dar paciencia a los hermanos de la iglesia, etc etc. Pero el hecho es que dar, debe ser movido por amor.

    Un abrazo,

  4. Que me encantó tu post mi querido Andrés, muy al tema de dar y perdonar y ser feliz.¿Acaso no es maravilloso el observar esto en nuestra vida?
    Sé lo valioso que es dar y recibir un vaso de agua y más cuando te encuentras en un lugar inhóspito y árido, la Biblia es tan cierta y real, y siempre el Señor busca nuestra felicidad, aunque por el momento nos duele, pero después podemos gozarnos. Excelente post.
    Un fuerte abrazo.


Leave a Reply

