In the School Library (II)

Zoo-rprendete

Zoo-rprendete

My friend Keila Ochoa, granddaughter of the late Mr. and Mrs Ron Harris, missionaries to Mexico, is the author of six books and frequently contributes with articles for magazines in Mexico and  Bolivia.  Her blog in Spanish “Retratos de Familia”   (Family portraits) is written in short and simple fashion, but its content is always profound, reflective and practical.

She wrote  “Zoo-rprendete” (closest translation: Be Zoo-rprised), a book for children with 40 stories that include fauna facts, activities, a key Bible verse and a questionnaire to make the child think through the moral of the story.  Keila has excitingly and vividly captured our attention as we read of an old lioness and a vigorous Chihuahua dog in lasting friendship, a young seal learning obedience, a nightingale and a red robin singing out of gratitude. Here we have raccoons, sharks, clams dolphins, bats, rhinoceros, etc. demonstrating us all about loyalty, generosity, compassion, courage, forgiveness and many more valuable virtues.

b2          b3

 

 

 

 

 

Aesop’s fables is the most known collection of short tales, but I would not be “Zoo-rprised” (Zoo-rprendido) if very soon Keila’s musings on life through her Zoo will take prominent place in the Christian and secular spheres. It is a great asset and I am glad to have this reading resource IN THE SCHOOL LIBRARY.

Published in: on April 9, 2009 at 10:30 am  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/library2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ES UN LIBRO QUE EN LAS NOCHES, EN PIJAMA EN CAMA LES LEO A MIS HIJOS Y EFECTIVAMENTE CAPTA TODA NUESTRA ATENCIÓN Y AÚN DESPIERTA EL DIALOGO ENTRE MIS HIJOS Y YO, ES UN MAGNÍFICO LIBRO AÚN PARA ADULTOS PORQUE NOS ENSEÑA LOS VALORES QUE DIOS HA DEJADO EN LA ESCRITURA
    A TRAVEZ DE LA FAUNA DESCRITA EN ZOO (COMO MIS HIJOS LE DICEN AL LIBRO). MI HIJO DE 10 AÑOS EN LA MATERIA DE GEOGRAFIA ESTÁ ESTUDIANDO LA FLORA Y FAUNA DE LAS DIFERENTES REGIONES CLIMATICAS DE MEXICO Y ESTE LIBRO DE ZOO LE HA AYUDADO A SABER MAS DE LA FAUNA QUE EN LA ESCUELA ESTÁ ESTUDIANDO Y NO SOLO ELLO, SINO VALORES QUE APRENDE POR MEDIO DEL LIBRO ZOO.
    LO RECOMIENDO, ES UN BUEN REGALO PARA EL DÍA DEL NIÑO!!!! PARA LOS ALUMNOS DE ESCUELA DOMINICAL, VECINOS Ó COMPAÑEROS DE ESCUELA DE NUESTROS HIJOS.

  2. The book is available only in Spanish.

  3. donde lo podemos conseguir? yo quiero uno para mis hijos!

  4. Mi querido Andrés: Este libro de Zoo de Keila ¡me encantó! La historia que se me hizo favorita fue la de Juancho:el perro chihuahua con la leona, quizá sea por los valores que imparte, aunque todas las historias las traen, además de su texto bíblico. A mi me encanta. Yo tengo ya mi libro de Zoo preparado en mi librero para cuando empiecen a llegar los nietos, ja,ja,ja. Ya ves que eso de “mujer prevenida…”¡sí va conmigo!
    Saludos hermanito.


Leave a Reply

