A Hero from the past

Adam West as Batman
Adam West as Batman

As a lad in the 70s  I watched  every day “Batman” (the one I now call “the original”) played by actor Adam West. The distinguishing mark was the use of onomatopoeic words (bang! Pow! Boom!) making you think you’re actually feeling the impact of the collision. I daydreamed of being like him using all the gadgets he ever pulled out of his suit or belt, I wished to drive the bat mobile, ride on the bat bike, fly the bat plane and go out to save the world with Wonder Woman (sorry Robin).  As I look back to my hero and longings to be like him, there is only one word that comes to my mind: RIDICULOUS!     But at that time “I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child” (1 Cor. 13:11).  Some decades into my system have changed my perspective and aspirations.     

     

Batboy (can't reveal his identity)

Batboy (can't reveal his identity)

  Today I am to imitate my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, a true hero who has displayed great will for self-sacrifice, love in the face of adversity and overcome  the foe. He has been the enemy’s worst nightmare. “Death is swallowed up in victory”. His attributes and power have no comparison.  

The principle is simple: 

We become like the object we worship.

“But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.” 2 Cor.3:18

Published in: on January 19, 2009 at 3:08 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2009/01/19/hero/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I agree. When I was a child I wanted to be Spiderwoman or the gal in the Fantastic Four. Today I look up to Jesus, first, but also to many other wonderful Christian women whose faith I want to imitate.

  2. We become like the object we worship. The more I think about it, it becomes scarier (or more scary?)… I just wonder if I spend enough time looking at God and not looking at a pic of who I think I want to become… un abrazo!

  3. ¡Hola Andrés! Muchas gracias por tu comentario. Y aquí me gozo con el tuyo, que es muy cierto. Cuando niños todos teníamos un héroe, y ahora que conocemos a Cristo, Él es nuestro ejemplo a seguir, imitar y por quien vivir.
    Gracias también por la foto que pusiste.¡A pensar quién es! ¿Adivino? Are you?
    Un fuerte abrazo.


Leave a Reply

