My favorite Hymn

Search me, O God, and know my heart today;

Try me, O Savior, know my thoughts I pray.

See if there be some wicked way in me;

Cleanse from ev’ry sin and set me free.

 

 I praise Thee, Lord,
For cleansing me from sin;
Fulfill Thy Word,
And make me pure within.
Fill me with fire
Where once I burned with shame;
Grant my desire
To magnify Thy Name.

Lord, take my life and make it wholly Tine;

Fill my poor heart with Thy great love divine.

Take all my will, my passion, self and pride;

I now surrender, Lord, in me abide.

 

O Holy Ghost,
Revival comes from Thee;
Send a revival,
Start the work in me.
Thy Word declares
Thou wilt supply our need;
For blessings now,
O Lord, I humbly plead.

 

 

 

J. Edwin Orr was born January 15, 1912 in Belfast, Ireland and died during a preaching trip in 1987. He was a great evangelist and noted scholar. His heart  was set on the revival work of the Holy Spirit. He wrote the lyrics of my favorite hymn in 1936 based on Psalm 139:23-24 using a  Polynesian melody. He lived his life and did his work and God used it  to deeply touch my heart. Every time I feel I am losing my first love, I take a hymnbook and sing this song; when I am done I have tears running down my cheeks and my heart burns again. This inspires me to live today not knowing who I will reach, touch and impact even when I am not more.

Published in: on December 2, 2008 at 4:21 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sgv17.wordpress.com/2008/12/02/hymn/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

